Under the jurisdiction of Jieyang County, Nanhai Prefecture in Qin and Han Dynasties, Meizhou was originally called Meizhou in the Song Dynasty (971 AD) from its Mei Brook and plum blossom (Mei Blossom ) in ancient times, it was Jiaying Zhou in Qing Dynasty and it was changed into Meixian in 1911. Meizhou has jurisdiction over seven counties and one district. Its area is 16, 197 square kilometers and population is 4,190,000 , an area of 321 square kilometers and a population of 21,000 in the city proper.
Meizhou is an important city on the upper reaches of the Hanjiang River. It is a hub of communication on the borders of Fujian, Guangdong and Jiangxi and also the material collecting and distributing center. Meizhou is also a well-known overseas Chinese hometown with about 500,000 overseas Chinese scattered in about 70 countries and regions. It also has the name of " cultural hometown". Its culture can be traced to the same origin from central China to ancient times and is the center of the kejia culture with a galaxy of talent.
There locate many scenic spots and historical sites in Meizhou City. The Tower with One Thousand Buddhists "situated in the summit of Eastern Mountain was built in Han Dynasty, same as the East and the West iron Towers in Guangxiao Temple of Guangzhou. The "Renjinglu" Cottage in the brook lip of eastern district was former residence of Mr. Huang Zunxian, the late patriotic poet, outstanding statesman and diplomat. It is now the key preservation unit of cultural relic.
Feel free to explore and send comments to firstname.lastname@example.org