[ Chinese Version ]

Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region


  1. Brief Introduction to Guangxi

  2. Some Famous Cities in Guangxi: Guilin , Nanning

  3. Travelling in Guangxi

Brief Introduction to Guangxi

One of China's five autonomous regions, Guangxi Zhuangzu is located in the southern part of the country. It has an area of 92,700 square miles (240,100 square kilometers) and is bordered by the Chinese provinces of Yunnan on the west, Guizhou on the north, Hunan on the northeast, and Guangdong on the southeast; the Gulf of Tonkin on the south; and Vietnam on the southwest. The region's leading commercial crop is sugarcane. The province produces fruits, and livestock are raised. Pigs, chickens, and ducks are raised on farms and goats in the hills. Fishing is extensive.

The region is a major producer of timber and forest products. Guangxi has sufficient coal and iron deposits to support moderate industrial development. Industries include iron and steel, machinery, cement, textiles, paper, flour, and silk.

In the early 20th century Guangxi and neighboring Guangdong province became the base of the Nationalist revolution led by Sun Yat-sen. It was declared a province of the People's Republic of China in 1949. In 1958 the province was transformed into an autonomous region. Population (1990 census), 42,245,765.